Friday, November 17, 2006

World can vote for new seven wonders

World can vote for new seven wonders. That's right. The time has come to name a new set of the seven wonders of the world. This article notes, "A GLOBAL competition to name the new seven wonders of the world has reached the penultimate stage, with a list of 77 candidates whittled down to 21 by a panel of international architects chaired by a former head of UNESCO."

Over 20 million people have voted so far and people are being encouraged to vote on the final list. CNN has a description of all 22 finalists at Vote: 'New 7 Wonders of the World'. My votes went to the Chichen Itza, the Great Wall of China, the Pyramids of Egypt, the Statue of Liberty, the Colosseum, the Acropolis, and the Taj Mahal. (A hat tip to Jennie W. for her post at

However, I am a little disappointed with this list. How in the world did the Mackinac Bridge not make the cut? This suspension bridge spans the Straits of Mackinac to connect the non-contiguous upper and lower peninsulas of the U.S. state of Michigan. I have gone across it several times and I am always impressed. Had this bridge been in existence in ancient times (and located in Europe, Asia, or Africa) it would have been on the original seven wonder list. Why not consider it now? Sigh.

You can vote for wonders at


C-dell said...

Hello, I am a freshman History major and came across you blog. I would have voted on the new 7, but I think it cost some. I love history and will visit your blog regularly.

Jennie W said...

Voting on the 7 wonders should NOT cost anything. I did it and never had to pay a fee.